skip navigation

Lemery Adds VaSID First Team All-State Accolade

Lemery Adds VaSID First Team All-State Accolade

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - Baseball senior Alex Lemery was named to the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) First-Team All State Team, announced Tuesday. 

The accolade adds to a touted list for the former Atlantic East Player of the Year. After putting together another solid season at the plate for the Saints, one where he batted .366 with seven home runs and 45 RBI, Lemery earned Atlantic East First Team All-Conference, First Team All-Region V from, and Third Team All-Region V from ABCA/Rawlings. 

Lemery was one of 30 selections to the First and Second team across Division II and III student-athletes.

After the 2022 season, Lemery finished his career with a batting average of .349 and 16 total home runs, both good for second all-time for the Saints baseball program.

​​VaSID names 44 all-state teams in 23 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the state of Virginia.

First Team All-State
C - Ray Tricarico (Eastern Mennonite)
1B - Justin Bowers (Christopher Newport)
2B - Kyle Lisa (Shenandoah)
SS - Alex Lemery (Marymount)
3B - Carter Johnson (Randolph-Macon)
OF - Henry Delavergne (Shenandoah)
OF - Jaylon Lee (Eastern Mennonite)
OF - Avery Neaves (Lynchburg)
UTIL - Daniel Elliott (Christopher Newport)
DH - Hunter Cole (Randolph-Macon)
SP - Reid Long (Bridgewater)
SP - Nick Mattfield (Lynchburg)
SP - Calvin Pastel (Shenandoah)
RP - Evan Blair (Washington and Lee)
RP - Grayson Thurman (Lynchburg)
Second Team All-State
C - Matt Sinko (Virginia Wesleyan)
1B - Pearce Bucher (Shenandoah)
2B - Connor Butler (Roanoke)
SS - Frankie Ritter (Shenandoah)
3B - Jared Foley (Emory & Henry)
OF - Bobby Ayscue (Mary Washington)
OF - Conner Clark (Christopher Newport)
OF - David Meech (Bluefield)
UTIL - Brett Tharp (Bridgewater)
DH - Tyler Campbell (Virginia-Wise)
SP - Jay Cassady (Christopher Newport)
SP - Thomas Haller (Washington and Lee)
SP - Drew Ramos (Randolph-Macon)
RP - Ian Brady (Virginia Wesleyan)
RP - Kyle Lewis (Christopher Newport)
Coach of the Year - Kevin Anderson, Shenandoah
Pitcher of the Year - Grayson Thurman, Lynchburg
Player of the Year - Avery Neaves, Lynchburg
Rookie of the Year - Nick Mattfield, Lynchburg